1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Left hand tendon discomfort

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by martin durkin, Feb 3, 2013.

1. martin durkin

martin durkin

Hello. I am new to double bass, but have played electric bass and violin for years, so I am progressing quickly on the DB. I am using Simandl book one, and stand to play. I find that when I am in 2nd or 3rd position on the E string I get a lot of tendon discomfort in my left wrist. I constantly remind myself of playing on the finger tips, 1/2/4 position etc. and try to incorporate vibrato whenever possible. I am trying to use minimal pressure, and likewise with the bow I try to let the weight of the bow bite the string, without extra pressure. I play French bowhold. I found if I turn the bass to the left, and get more behind it I do not have to twist my wrist so far around, but that then puts me out of position for the higher strings. I move my bass a bit anyway in order to bow the E-G etc. . I am a bit worried that I have a technique that could cause injury. I have tried raising my elbow, standing straighter, but the only way I really remove the discomfort is to get behind the bass, as if on a stool. I don't have any issues with the A-D-G, mainly just the E. I have high tension 3/4 size helicore orchestral strings, but my string length is only 38 1/2 inches, so that drops the tension to medium, and they still bow/pizz well. Does anyone have any suggestions or recommendations please, as I am worried about potential injury.

2. PaulCannon

PaulCannon

Two thoughts--

1. Have a reputable luthier take a look at the bass. If the instrument has not been set up properly (bridge too tall, fingerboard too curved or scooped) it could injure you. Sometimes it's ok to blame the instrument.