1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Left hand thumb posture - what is correct?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Rockin Mike, Nov 11, 2012.

1. Rockin Mike

Rockin Mike Supporting Member

What is the correct posture for the left hand thumb?

I am double-jointed in the thumb, it bends backward to make a perfect "L" shape. No pain when I do that but I can feel it stretch the tendons at the base of my palm.

Being self-taught, I always used that backbent thumb as an anchor so my middle thumb bone was perpendicular to the neck. As such I could put plenty of pressure on it and still be very loose in the fingers for very fast fretwork. Seemed like an unfair but welcome advantage. Worked fine until I got old, now I want to get away from that to relieve pressure on those tendons.

Should the left thumb be used as an anchor or pivot at all?

Is it best to wrap it over the top of the neck? This seems to limit agility on the lighter strings where I need it most.

Is it best to lay the thumb down parallel to the neck always pointing at the headstock? This seems to mean using more bicep to change hand positions which is slower than just pivoting on the thumb.

My best guess at this point is that it should be pointing toward the headstock, tip barely touching the neck just as a guide, and the whole thumb kept straight. I've made a brace with duct tape and popsicle sticks to train it to stay straight.