Lefty Englehardt ES1 for $400?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by pkstone, Feb 22, 2014.

1. pkstone

pkstone Supporting Member

This is my first time on the DB side, so go easy on me! I know of a lefty Englehardt ES1 available, supposedly in good condition, for somewhere between 3 and 4 bills.

Assuming it's a good fit, and checks out with a luthier, should I jump on this? I have seen reservations expressed about the neck profile on Engles, and they don't seem to be highly regarded here, but I've only done my initial research so far. Please tell me if I'm even in a good ballpark here.

I had always assumed that if I were going to start doubling, I'd either have to pay through the nose to find a lefty, or learn right-handed (which didn't work out for me at *all* on the electric, so let's not go there). I am excited about this opportunity to learn a beautiful new instrument, but don't want to let it cloud my judgement. Please advise! And thank you, from a DB newbie-hopeful...

2. pkstone

I should add that the bass is being sold by the child of someone who just passed on, and that they don't seem to know how to sell it, especially being that it is lefty; so, it should not be assumed that there is something wrong with it for that low price. Seller indicates that it is "like new" but needs a new string.

3. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF

Are you left-handed? If you are, and are determined to play lefty (like only a tiny minority do) then grab it and figure out any problems it has later.

Two things could be happening here. The bass could have been purpose-built as a lefty, which would mean that the internal structure of the bass is the mirror image if a righty bass, with a supporting beam we call the bass bar under the E string which is where is should be.