Lighter weight cab alternative to fEARful 15/6

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by thiocyclist, Feb 21, 2014.

1. thiocyclist

thiocyclist Supporting Member

Hi all. I have been gigging with a 15/6 for a few years now and love it. However, a recent (minor) back injury has caused me to question lugging around even its relatively minor 55 lbs in lieu of a lighter weight cab. Yes, eventually I will be back to >50 lbs lifting ability but I am starting to see my family history of back problems manifesting itself in me as I get close to my 30s. (And before anyone jumps in with comments, I exercise a lot and get good marks from the doc... Although I am certainly going to take up several more core strength exercises after this experience.) The other thing is, I am not a professional bassist. This is just a fun side gig for me. No need to risk injury in the name of a hobby the way I see it--no matter how good I may be or how many people want me to play for them, playing bass is decidedly not my day job and doesn't warrant that kind of risk taking.

I see there are a lot of cabs out there <30 lbs, and definitely <40 lbs, that are well-liked. What would be a good replacement for my 15/6 though? I got it because it has a great sound in the low end I wasn't getting with my previous Ampeg 4x10 or MB 1x15 (both with tweeters). Those cabs tended not to have as much fidelity in the low register.

And I will have to say one of my less sensible conditions is it can't be something upholstered in rat fur like most of the MarkBass cabs are. I hate that stuff.

Thanks for your comments and thoughts.

2. kesslari

kesslari Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Lark in the Morning Instructional Videos; Audix Microphones
    If you love your fEarful 15/6, I'd suggest a fEarful 12/6, possibly with a sub for when you need it on bigger gigs.

That or a hand truck.

3. jnewmark

jnewmark Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Play guitar.
  4. nick98338

nick98338