1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Line Out Question

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by mam1862, Dec 19, 2012.

  1. mam1862

    mam1862 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    This might be a dumb question but why do so amps have a seperate volume control for the line out? Does it even make a difference?

    Also if there is one on the amp what is a good volume level to have it on or again does it even matter since the final adjustment will be at the board?

    Thanks.
  2. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    10
    If you are talking about the level on the DI, some DI signals can be too hot for the mixing board or too quiet.
  3. Tuned

    Tuned

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Older GK heads have notoriously high DI output level, can easily clip the preamp of a mixer that doesn't have pads.
  4. wcriley

    wcriley

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    Having a variable output level is handy for situations where:
    The next piece of gear doesn't have pad/gain/trim controls.
    The mixer doesn't enough available line or mic inputs.
    The next piece of gear expects a consumer level (-10dB) input.
  5. mam1862

    mam1862 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it. Thanks for the response.
  6. ThisBass

    ThisBass

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    The default level reduction of every DI is -20dB.

    But:

    strong signal level into DI stage => means strong (-20dB) DI signal level out into FOH.


    A lot of Folks like and prefer high level signals ...although there is never any need to do it like that.
  7. ThisBass

    ThisBass

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Di signal level (by default) to FOH should be similar to micro signal level.

    So if your (DI) gear gives stronger level then the FOH can handle means, try to reduce your signal level and give more stage level with the master of the amp.
  8. wcriley

    wcriley

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    True that typical feeds to FOH are mic level.

    But, if all the mic inputs on the mixer are in use but line level inputs are available, then having switching/variuable output levels is a good thing to have.
  9. KJung

    KJung Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Likes Received:
    1
    Never could really figure out why there are level controls on amp DI's, since any board other than the really cheap stuff will have an input pad allowing for virtually any signal level to be handled with no problem. I guess on lower end 'PA heads', and on lower end gigs where the bands run sound from the stage, it might be useful.
  10. ThisBass

    ThisBass

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok that's right but, these signal inputs are unbalanced and therefore can't provide galvanic insulation.
    That's no problem as long as all the gear on stage and "FOH" is connected to the same line socket.

Share This Page