Linseed oil finish for a fretless FB?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by eukatheude, Mar 6, 2014.

1. eukatheude

eukatheude

Hi,
    I recently got an used fretless Warwick (rockbass, sadly) streamer. I'm happy with the playability, not so much with the sound (pickups are to blame) and i've noticed string marks are starting to appear on the fingerboard. I know I should use flats but the store where i bought them was out of stock for the rest of the month, and i definitely didn't want to wait a month to play my new bass. :D
    I've read than linseed oil is good for "sealing" the wood. Do you think that is going to work on this bass? I'm no wood expert, but the wood is dark enough to be ebony. Or maybe dyed rosewood...
    I've considered epoxy but that would be problematic seeing as i live in a small apartment with not much space for this stuff... Linseed/tung oil on the other hand would be easier to do and easier on the landlord's furniture if ever spilled. Has anyone ever tried this?
  2. Manton Customs

Manton Customs UK Luthier Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Luthier, Manton Customs
    It depends on what you are trying to do. If you would like create a hard barrier which your strings will not mark then the answer is no Linseed will not help. Linseed is quite soft and would not help protect your board.

If you would like to give your fingerboard a good clean, prevent it from drying out and dirt getting stuck to it then yes, Linseed works well for this. This is how I use Linseed on fingerboard whether fretless or fretted, just apply a decent coat, wait 15 minutes or so then wipe off completely. This is basically using Linseed in the same way most would use Lemon Oil.
  3. eukatheude

eukatheude