Listened to some "bass only" tracks

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by jaxstarke, Jan 22, 2013.

1. jaxstarke

jaxstarke

:meh:I'm sure some of you have heard them on Youtube and various places. I have to say I was pretty blown away at how bad a lot of them are. I mean they are HORRIBLE. Off-time, sloppy, farty tone, missed notes, the whole sha-bang. Actually got me to thinking, why even practice if these guys can get away with playing like crap in the studio? It obviously doesn't take away from the final product so what's the point in even bothering to go through the trouble? I take pride in what I can do and you would think that these guys would too seeing as how that's what they get paid to do. Do the producers just tell them to throw down whatever they want because it doesn't really matter in the long run? I've never worked with a producer before so if any of you have or know why they would let these guys get away with recording a load of garbage and call it a bassline let me know the reasons.
  2. Waspinators

Waspinators

If it supports, adds to the song in some way and sounds good in the mix, let it be!
  3. ffutterman

ffutterman Talentless Bass Enthusiast Supporting Member

Media:
    I had a similar experience, where I've worked at getting a perfectly clean tone forever and then heard some of those tracks with fret buzz, accidental notes, etc.

That said, they do earn their paychecks sometimes:
  4. QweziRider

QweziRider Supporting Member

Often that "crappiness" is the magic that makes it work in the context of a mix.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. 4001

Yeah, I wish I never watched those isolated John Entwistle tracks.....
  7. Rumbledom

Rumbledom

Bass by itself will always have noise and bumps. It's the nature of the beast. It's playing rhythm. Even Jamerson using flats and groovin like nobodie's business has some squeeks and uneven timing. It all comes down to how it fits into the music.