Long time bassist finally buying an amp... Help!

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by amadden, Nov 13, 2012.

1. amadden

amadden

So I've been playing for quite a few years now, but I've only ever played by myself so I've never felt the need to upgrade my amp. I've stuck with the tiny 15 watt amp that came with my first bass like 5 years ago. And it's been, you know, somewhat acceptable over the years.

But no more. I've decided it's time to pick up something new, and something that has some actual oomph to it. But like I said, I've never upgraded my amp before. I've bought new basses, I could tell you everything you need to know about a bass, but amps are foreign territory to me. I just don't understand wattages and speaker sizes and all that. What's "good enough?", you know?

This amp would mostly be used just for screwing around by myself at home, playing poor covers of Rush songs... But I'd love for an amp that was big enough to actual play with other people, should it ever come to that. Maybe even able keep up at smaller gigs too? I don't plan on being the next big bass player, it's will always be just something I do for fun...

Does anybody know of an amp, or at least what I should be looking for in an amp, that would be the perfect fit for me? I don't have a specific budget in mind, but maybe around $300? No more than $400, that's for sure. (And, unfortunately, music stores aren't an option due to the rinky-dink town I live in :()
  2. soulman969

soulman969

I'd say that a GK MB112 II much like the one one I have would be just about perfect for home and studio and still have the ability to handle small or medium sized venues with a band. I've used mine in all of those applications.

It's a 200w 1x12" speaker combo with a very small footprint so it tucks into a living room, bed room, or a den pretty easily and lacks nothing in the way of great sound and decent volume capability.