Longest you spent learning a piece?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Tom Lane, Nov 17, 2013.

1. Tom Lane

Tom Lane Gold Supporting Member

Media:
    I've been working on some tough-for-me tunes recently. Some of them I've been working on for 15 to 30 minutes a day for more than 2 months and it made me wonder if I'm just really slow or if I'm in good company. So, what's the most amount of time you've spent on really learning a tune? By learning, I mean, memorizing it, playing the melody brilliantly, soloing competently, internalizing the changes. When you're done, you KNOW the tune, inside and outside, slow, fast, different keys, etc.

2. Jbassrockboy

Jbassrockboy

A life time .. For some pieces... Minutes for others...

Rossa

3. bassb66

bassb66

I saw an old interview with Jaco Pastorius recently - he said it took him ten years to learn "Donna Lee." Don't give up. It takes what it takes.

4. bassmeknik

bassmeknik

Good company here... it really does take what it takes

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. lowEndRick

lowEndRick

7. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

My definition of "having it" is being able to walk away from the piece for months, come back and be able to play it from recall with no or little mistakes. If you stopped playing it for a month and forgot everything, you definite don't have it. Or if you play it with someone else and regardless of how many clams they make, you still keep it together.