Looking for a fretless acoustic/electric

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Crazy_Climer, Feb 1, 2014.

1. Crazy_Climer

Crazy_Climer

I am beginning my search for a fretless acoustic/electric bass. I am curious to hear all y'alls opinions on this sort of beast, and why you like your suggested brand/model/etc. I play a 5-string electric now (and this A/E would be additional, not in replacement of the electric), so do like the extra range offered by it, but am not limiting my interest to only 5-string. Let the commentary begin!
  2. Neener

Neener Grumpy Old Dog Supporting Member

Depending on your budget, Rob Allen and Carvin come to mind. Unfortunately I have no experience with neither so other than throwing out those two brands, I'll be watching from the sideline. :smug:
  3. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

Low end? The Ibanez acoustic fretless ain't bad. 32" scale at around $200.
    ~$500-$700? The carvin ac40f is an outstanding bass.
    As for high end, I've never played one, but I've only ever heard good things about rob allens.
  4. Crazy_Climer

Crazy_Climer

While I initially didn't say anything about budget, I should probably say that I am one of those people that won't go for something just because it's the cheapest (Frugal?), but I also won't go for something just because it's the most expensive (Prestige?). I believe in good value for my $$$. I'd rather spend a little extra for something that's going to last, and be a good, consistent player rather than to be happy for an initial savings, only to be pissed off 6 months later that I now hold a piece of junk. On the flip side of that, I am not in to paying extra money for some name-brand, if there's something of acceptable/reasonable quality for fewer $$$.