1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Looking for a good 4x10 Cab for Drop B tuning

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Sevenle, Jan 17, 2013.

1. Sevenle

Sevenle

Hey Everybody,

This is my first post here and I am a pretty big noob when it comes to equipment, I play in an Epic Metal Band that plays in Drop D and Drop D. I am looking for a 4x10 Cabinet from AmericanMusicalSupply.com in the range of $400-$800. I have read that Ampeg makes a solid cabinet for lower tunings.

What company/cab would you recommend for full sound at such low tuning.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
  2. Primakurtz

Primakurtz Registered Nihilist Supporting Member

The Ampeg 410hlf goes deeper than anything out there.
  3. TigerInATrance

TigerInATrance

If you can find a used PR 410hlf from Ampeg, you'll have the deepest 410 you'd ever want. It's also very modern sounding in contrast with the SVT410hlf which has that very Ampeggy sound.
  4. Sevenle

Sevenle

what do you think of about the difference between the SVT series and the B Series? asides from the B series being $300 cheaper. and thanks for giving me your advice.
  5. Sevenle

Sevenle

also just noticed my OP says Drop D twice. It should also say Drop B
  6. Greevus

Greevus

Agree with Ampeg 410HLF. I have an 810 that I use primarily, and I have a 410HLF. 410 is a low end beast. It can take and produce some oomph. My band tunes BEAD and I was worried about it handling the B. No problem.
  7. chaosMK