1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Looking for a good bass lesson dvd to buy...advice?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bdh2991, Nov 28, 2013.

1. bdh2991

bdh2991

I've been playing bass on and off since i was about 12 years old (21 now), but in the past six months i've started to get a lot more serious about my playing. I'm more focused on praise and worship/gospel music. Any advice on a good instructional dvd for bass playing? Nothing too basic, i know my scales and most basic theory, I've already gone through Victor Wooten's groove workshop dvd about 5 times. Any advice on books for bass would be appreciated as well. Thanks!
  2. GastonD

GastonD

Norm Stockton's material (DVDs and his artofgroove website) is very well done, and he specifically addresses some of the topics relating to gospel/worship bass.
  3. lyla1953

lyla1953 Supporting Member

Roy Vogt's TMBG series is very well done - Check it out if you haven't already
  4. fearceol

fearceol

5. deckard

deckard

I highly recommend 6-string bass guitarist Todd Johnson's "Technique Builders" DVD for bass guitar - he uses a 4-string bass on the whole DVD, so don't worry that it might be for 6-string only. ;)

I've had it for years and still go back and watch it and pick up nuances and/or refine/relearn something each time.