Looking For A New Amp

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by jmclearnon, Nov 12, 2012.

1. jmclearnon

jmclearnon

Firstly thanks for the great forum, and for the advice that you guys will give.

Bass-ically i am looking to buy a high end amp.

I have been gradually upgrading all of my equipment over the last few years (as i'm a student, it takes a while :().

quick bit of context...

.Been playing bass for a while
    .Have a crappy Behringer 15" which is terrible
    .Have a radial DI (mostly just plug right into the PA as most of the amps at venues are pretty terrible)
    .Finally got enough money to buy an amp
    .would like to buy an amp that is NOT ridiculously heavy/hard to move around.
    .got about £2K GBP to spend
    .oh nearly forgot, i mostly play jazz music with 5/6 basses +play cello live alot (with DPA mic! btw would recommend to anyone who plays cello), also play church music, at shows etc. . .

I have been looking for a while researching which amps to buy. I would just like some advice about what would fit well together. I'm interested in the TH500 and MoMark on the head side of things but when it comes to cabs, and living in the UK (cant get everything at a shop to try beside each other...) i would like some help.

Current ideas floating in my head are:

.Momark with 2x10 traveler cabs + 1x15" cab (all markbass)
    .Hartke Hydrive stuff . . . ?
    .Aguilar TH500 with 1x12" 1x12" Bergantino cabs/aguilar cabs?
    .The markbass with Berg cabs?
    .Markbass LMII with 4x10? (even though it is very large)/2x2x10"

as i said it needs to be portable and i'm worrying about the fact i won't be able to try all the heads/cabs together due to crappy shops over here. Tbh i don't really need to be above 500 watts i would just like the idea of 2 cabs to give me a more full sound.

anyways ^ is the start of my rant lol, thanks for spending time to read it and hope to hear your suggestions!

Jonny

2. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

Media: