1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Looking for a qualified luthier in Bucks, PA

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by MagnificentB, Nov 8, 2012.

1. MagnificentB

MagnificentB

Hi All, I'm a newbie here. I've been an electric player for years and started dabbling with DB a few years back. Anyway, I recently purchased a 1960's vintage Kay M1 that needs some work done, specifically the bass bar has become partially separated from the bass top causing the top to start sagging. I'd like to get an idea of how much something like that might cost to repair (I have been doing some homework prowling around the forum...) and I am looking for a qualified luthier in Bucks County PA or New Jersey area. I'd also like to have the bridge replaced (assuming the repairs can be made reasonably) and pro setup. Can anyone recommend someone?

Thanks!!!
  2. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

3. Febs

Febs Supporting Member

4. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

5. Blaine

Blaine

+1 on Shank. He's great.
  6. MagnificentB

MagnificentB

Hey thanks guys...I found a few online, including Jack Hill, and I saw Shank (he's in Hersey and that's a bit of a hike.) Bucks County Music said they couldn't even look at it until late next week, and then they might have it for a while. :(