Looking For A Sludgy, Gritty Tone

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Leonidas33, Mar 23, 2014.

1. Leonidas33

Leonidas33

I've been playing guitar for years but only recently have i started playing bass. Im in a "hardcore" band and im looking for pedal(s) for a sludgy, gritty tone. I already have a ten band eq in my head so i find im able to dial in the low end and higher end string noise that i want, but i still cant get that sludge. Listen to the beginning of Landmines by Stray From the Path or the verses of Sword in Mouth, Fire Eyes by Norma Jean. This is the type of tone that im going for. Do i just need a distortion pedal (if so what are some good ones)? Or am i looking for more? Thanks.

2. XXL

XXL Custom User Title Supporting Member

I just listened to Landmines from Stray From The Path (digging their RATM cover btw)I think with your 10 band EQ on the amp a Darkglass B3K would get you what you want.

3. adamaarts

adamaarts Supporting Member

OFD and be done with it!!

4. johnk_10

johnk_10 vintage bass nut

Disclosures:
    John K Custom Basses
    +1.

IME, my B3K was more fizzy than gritty.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. FaithNoMan

FaithNoMan

I disagree, especially on a passive bass. When I think of "fizzy" I think of the Boss Bass Overdrive. "Grindy" for sure, though. But it has a lot to do with the way people set the blend and what mode they are using.

I think there is more grind than fizz here:
    http://www.soundclick.com/player/single_player.cfm?songid=12413136&q=hi&newref=1

And imo it sounds warm here:
    https://soundcloud.com/centaurus_a/long-synth5-1

I think this one might sound gritty, though:
    https://soundcloud.com/centaurus_a/3chordcrunch

Or course, all of our ears are different, tone is subjective...and so on.:)

7. johnk_10

Disclosures:
    John K Custom Basses
    well, I couldn't dial in a single sound that I was happy with with my B3K so I got rid of it with no regrets

8. FaithNoMan

FaithNoMan