Looking for an upright bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by musician17, Dec 19, 2012.

1. musician17

musician17

Hiiiiiiiiii. I've been playing upright bass for 6 years and I am ready to move on from a student model. What are specific basses that I should be looking into? My budget is 1800. I am NOT looking for student basses. More along the next level above a student bass.

Thanks!
    -Gabby T.

2. KTFunkAlive

KTFunkAlive

You might need to add a zero.

3. Jake Morris

Jake Morris Supporting Member

Hahaha lol. But seriously, your going to need at least double that 1800 but then it still depends.

4. Adam Attard

Adam Attard

Depends, what kind of "student" bass do you have? My "student" instrument ran me around 1200, with a bag and crappy bow, and that's literally as cheap as you can go.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. musician17

musician17

My bass is currently a cheap school bass that my school had given to me.
    What are some step ups from a student bass? What about Becker? Is that worth anything?

7. crowsmengegus

crowsmengegus

Check out the newbie guide here.

I think a good suggestion is something like a Shen Hybrid (SB 150). That will run a little over your budget, but not so much that you can't save up for it. Check out some pics of an SB 150 here: http://www.nicklloydbasses.com/shen-sb150-hybrid.php

Also, what is this Becker you're referring to?

8. Champagne

Champagne

Have you considered having your bass worked on? Have you ever had it worked on? Your price range really doesn't lend itself to a big selection of things. Like crowsmengegus said, read the stickies of the forum, check out a shen 150 (personally I have mixed feelings about them after trying a few) and really consider getting a tuneup on your bass. A good tuneup with a fresh set of strings can make a HUGE difference in sound and playability.

Check out http://www.fretwellbass.com/

9. musician17

musician17