Looking for Maple Bass Neck to fit Jaguar Special V

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Kevin Gearhead, Nov 29, 2013.

1. Kevin Gearhead

Kevin Gearhead Supporting Member

Hello Talkbass, this is my first time posting a thread so I apologize if this is in the wrong section.

Anyways, I recently pulled the trigger on a Squire VM Jaguar Special V. I find that it's a very good bass aside from the fact that the neck is made from very cheap tone woods (it dents very easily and was back bowing after one week), and after some shipping issues with UPS the neck has water damage (I got the insurance resolved though). I'm currently looking to replace the neck. :help:

Since maple finger boards are my favorite for Fender instruments, I am wondering if anyone knows where I may find a replacement Fender style neck with a maple finger board for under $500 (the bass only cost me $250). Is there a place that sells replacements necks that won't exceed the cost I paid for the Jaguar bass? Is it possible I could fit a third party bass neck (like SX) without any extra work?

I appreciate any input people can give me.

Thank you!

2. Bobster

Bobster

You should be able to find several Fender, or Mighty Mite 5-string necks on eBay.

Best of luck, and post pics...

Bob

3. Thornton Davis

Thornton Davis Supporting Member

You can buy a new Fender Modern Player Jazz V neck on Ebay that should fit. I had a Squier VM Jaguar V for a week before returning it for the very same reasons you've mentioned in your post.

TD

4. Kevin Gearhead

Yeah, it's an embarrassment to the VM line. Any suggestions on what search terms or stores I should look up on Ebay? Only thing I've found so far is a Fernandes bass neck with a maple board and I have no idea if that would fit or not. Also, thank you for the quick replies. :)

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Thornton Davis

Thornton Davis Supporting Member

Simply search for Fender Modern Player Jazz V bass.