1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

looking for more volume

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by muthertucker17, Feb 12, 2014.

1. muthertucker17

muthertucker17

ok, so i'm a big fat drummer recently converted to bassist, so i don't know anything about the specifics of my instrument, just how to slap it a lot. my current amp situation is failing me unfortunately, considering the amount of money i put into it. i now have a hartke hydrive 4x10 cab with the LH1000 head, and considering the fact that i am putting out 1000 watts i thought i would have sufficient volume, yet during the loud funk breaks in some of my bands songs, no one can hear my slap bass lines. i have the thing cranked almost all the way up with my guitar volume all the way up. its starting to get distorted. cutting to the chase, i don't know whether i need a new head, possibly with more than 3 eq nobs, an additional cabinet like a 1x15 or second 4x10, or what. i definitely want some head room so i can deliver a nice, crisp sound that will keep up with drums and guitar. does anyone have a solution?

btw sorry for the length of that, if people don't want to read all of that i will post a condensed version of it.
  2. punkjazzben

punkjazzben

That rig should be more than enough. I'd say it's an EQ issue, either on your bass (what bass are you using?) or in the way you're setting your amp's EQ. Where do you set the bass, mid, and treble knobs?
  3. muthertucker17

muthertucker17