Looking for some life advice from professional musicians in Europe

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by paxrvr, Oct 1, 2012.

1. paxrvr

paxrvr

Hello all! Long time peruser of this site, first time poster though. A bit of background on myself, I am 21 years old working full time as a data analyst in Indianapolis. I went to college for 2 years and tried out 3 different majors before deciding that I need to take some time to figure out what I want to do with my life. I have been playing bass for 9 years now and while I know I'm not the best in the world, I feel like I can hold my own. It has always been one of my biggest passions and I would love to make a career out of being a studio musician. I know that I have a long way to go in terms of technique, learning the industry, etc. but it is a challenge I am willing to take.

This leads me to my main point- I want to relocate. Aside from personal reasons for disliking Indiana (I've lived here my whole life and have had about enough), it is certainly no music hub. I can't even find a decent bass instructor. On top of that, I'm wary of the direction that the United States is going and disagree with some of our country's political values. Because of all of this, I'm putting some consideration into moving to Europe. Right now it's little more than an idea in the back of my head, but it's a big enough notion that I've decided to start looking into it as a viable option.

Is there anyone here in the forums who has worked as a professional or semi-professional musician both here in the States as well as somewhere in the EU? If so, what were some pros and cons of both? If you had the ability to uproot and relocate anywhere to play music, where would it be and why? Do you (or anyone here, really) have any pertinent life advice for me?