Looking for the basics of bass electronics, please.

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by saresu.bass, Feb 6, 2014.

1. saresu.bass

saresu.bass

I want to start learning how to fix/repair bass circuits.

I've been finding all sorts of fragmented information about bass electronics, pickups and everything but they don't help much. As a total beginner I'm looking for learning the basics.

Is there any book or article out there for basses?

I only found the book: Guitar electronics for musicians Donald Brosnac. Does it serve for basses too?

Thanks.
  2. wcriley

wcriley

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    The passive electronics in skinny-string and bass guitars are the same. The only real difference is the value of the cap on the tone controls.

Another good source of info is the reference section at stewmac.com.
  3. RobbieK

RobbieK

can you solder? That's where I'd start. I was lucky enough to learn to solder at about ten years old. Although I have tweaked my technique and tools along the way as I gained more experience. Try building a few hobby electronics kits. In Australia we buy these at Jaycar, Altronics, Dick Smith. I'm sure there are shops like that In your part of the world.

As a teenager, I had a book called "Customising your electric guitar" by Adrian Legg. It helped/inspired me a lot. I also found a few of those little Babani books pretty useful later on. There's one or two that are specifically about electric guitar wiring. Plus Craig Anderton's book from the mid 90's called "Guitar projects for musicians".

See if your local college has certificate or diploma courses in electronics. I did one years ago. It wasn't related directly to audio electronics, but it was pretty good.

Build a basic pickup winder. My first was just a hand cranked axe grinder with the stone removed and a digital counter added.