Loss in bottom and volume when second cab added

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Matt Ides, Nov 27, 2012.

1. Matt Ides

Matt Ides

So I found a deal on a second GB 8T so I figured I would pick it up to have when I needed a bit more power and volume. When I add the second cab there is a significant loss in the low end and volume decreases as well. I assume this is not normal and the opposite should be happening. Each cab by itself sounds great, but together, YUCK. I have always been a combo or 1 cab and head player. So am I missing something here?

FYI: please move to the Amps section.

2. joebar

joebar Supporting Member

it could be that one of the cabs is out of phase.
    i am not an expert, but a similar situation arose with my buddy`s two cabs and one was out of phase.
    he found out that one of the cabs`drivers had been repaired and when they wired up the speaker, they wired it backwards. he reversed it and presto!

3. flatfender

flatfender Ad eundum quo nemo ante iit Supporting Member

Sounds like the 2nd cab is out of phase.

Edit: Joebar beat me to it

<shakes tiny fist>

4. megafiddle

megafiddle

Just reverse the connections to only one of the cabinets.

You might want to check the cables first. It's possible that they are wired
    reversed from each other. Otherwise, reverse the connections to the cab's
    input jack.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BassNeo

BassNeo

What are you driving them with?

7. bassmeknik

bassmeknik