1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Low tension nickel strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by toughluxury2010, Feb 25, 2013.

1. toughluxury2010

toughluxury2010

Hi.
    Still a newbie here. Been using Rotosound Swing Bass for 30 years, but due to distributor changes in Australia, hard to come by. Have a nerve problem with my hands now. Play a 1982 custom built Schecter guitar Research P bass with a Warmoth birds eye maple neck. Looking for lower tension, easier on the fingers string - nickel? Anybody recommend any good brands? I've got DR high beam Stainless against Ernie ball nickel on my Washburn, but the EB's went dull pretty quickly.

1982 Schecter Guitar Research Left Hand P Bass (One piece ash body, Warmoth bird's eye maple neck, Bill Lawrence EB60's & Babicz FCH bridge) Markbass CMD102p, Markbass Super Synth, Digitech Bass Chorus, MXR bass envelope filter

Attached Files:

2. lburton2

lburton2 Les Is More

I've been having great luck with Elixirs for the past few years. Consistent string (made by D'Addario & Coated by Elixir) with balanced tone.

D'Addario does a good job and last a reasonable amount of time. I've had bad luck with EB and find Rotosounds very abrasive.

I vote D'Addario or Elixir if you're willing to spend the cash on Elixirs and they're available where you are.

3. toughluxury2010

toughluxury2010

Thanks - I'll give the Elixirs a try. They cost twice as much as other strings, but I've heard they last a lot longer before going dull?

4. bassfreakah

bassfreakah

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist Ernie ball strings
    the Ernie ball coated sound good and last a while and dont have the rubber coating that wears off.