Low tension strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by PlanetariumERB, Dec 1, 2012.

1. PlanetariumERB

PlanetariumERB

So I have two basses and ernie ball music man stingray4 and an mtd kz6. Both strung with regular light gauge daddario xl nickel wound. I love them on the mtd they feel amazing and sound great. They dont have a lot of tension and have a nice give and play in them. However on the ray they feel stiff and resistive and nothing like they do on my mtd. So i tried to go get a lower tension set of strings for the ray and got a set of DR sunbeams on recommendation but they feel even stiffer than the Daddarios did. So I've been thinking about springing for a set of TI JR344? Any other brand I should try or should I try going to a lighter gauge?
  2. Flux Jetson

Flux Jetson

Huh .... interesting. I'm new to string experimentation but plan on diving headlong into it soon in support of some extensive research I'm doing with my own setup (see sig).

I wonder how it is that two basses with the (presumably) same scale length can have two different feels with the same strings and (presumably) the same tunings?

I'll be interested to follow this thread, hopefully you'll get some participation.

:)
  3. PlanetariumERB

PlanetariumERB

Its funny the mtd is a 35in scale and the ray is a 34 so I would assume the mtd would feel as if it has more tension but the ray actually does instead. They are both tuned standard. I am also curious why the strings feel so different on both instruments.
  4. Lemon Of Troy

Lemon Of Troy Banned

High action and too much relief can sometimes make the strings feel stiffer.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Flux Jetson

Flux Jetson

Yea, I suppose that makes sense. :)
  7. ursusaltered

ursusaltered Supporting Member