Low volumes bad for technique?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Ezmar, Feb 19, 2013.

1. Ezmar

Ezmar

Being a college student, I play with a 15 watt practice amp, so as not to disturb everyone else in my building. I've found that I end up with much more fatigue than I remember, and a general feeling at times that I'm not as good as I was the summer before college, with the same amp, but cranked all the way up, despite putting in no less time playing.

I made a thread earlier about the Les Claypool style strumming suddenly seeming to put too much strain on my middle finger, with which I tend to do my strumming, but I've been wondering if perhaps it's the low volume causing me to dig in far too much. A part of me wants to say that if I don't dig in, I won't be able to get the aggressive sound, but another part of me says that if I turned the amp up, I'd be able to put less strain on the finger. and playing with no volume makes me think this is the case: I don't try to get more volume or grit out of it with my hand, and it's nice and easy, but when I turn the volume on, it sounds too quiet, and I end up straining my hand to flick the strings harder, due to how I strum. I don't think it's a problem with how I strum, so much as it is a psychological thing making me overdo it at low volumes.

Is this a commonly observed thing? Low volumes being detrimental when playing harder stuff? It's not a problem when playing easy (not difficulty-wise, but mood) stuff, because then it's nice and laid-back, and aggression is not an issue, but when you want to play something loud and hard, you feel like you're fighting the low volume of the amp and overcompensate. Most people like to say to turn up and use a light touch, but for some kinds of playing, a light touch won't do it. Even so, if the volume is too low, it seems to me that it's easy to work too hard. Anyone have any opinions on this matter?

2. ReiPsaeg

ReiPsaeg