Lowest Gauge Strings available? - Help!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Amonkey, Aug 9, 2013.

1. Amonkey

Amonkey

(I am totally new to basses, so forgive me if I get the terminology wrong)

So I got a bass earlier today and got some strings to replace the old ones. I have no idea what gauge they are.
    I bought .45-100 gauge strings, attempted to put the string in the tuner. It didn't fit. I eventually forced it in, and broke it. My bass guitar is a very small bass.

my question is, do I need to buy specific strings or did I just mess something up? Any help at all would be appreciated.
  2. mrbell321

mrbell321

That is odd... Are you sure you ended up w/ a bass and not a guitar? heh
    But seriously, what bass is it?
  3. unclebass

unclebass

Measure the distance between the tail where the strings mount in the bridge and the nut on the neck. This will tell you the scale length strings you need for this bass. You likely have a 30" or 32" scale bass and were installing 34" scale strings. Just a guess, your trouble was with the E string?
  4. Amonkey

Amonkey

Well, there was FOUR strings on it, some I'm ASSUMING.

But in all seriousness, yeah, I'm quite sure. It's an off brand. Am I allowed to post pictures, and how? Just joined today.

It's a Des Laurier, if that means anything. Very small. Didn't find a model number

Yep. I really want to avoid spending 30 bucks on strings though. I've already wasted about 20 on the strings and I'm very frustrated.
  5. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Supporting Member

What kind of tuner? Is it an eyelet like a guitar or is it a bass tuner, meaning it has a slot across it with a hole in the middle. If it is the latter you should be putting the string into the hole and bending it out of the slot to make a 90 degree bend and start wrapping.
  6. Amonkey

Amonkey