Mackie DLM8

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Adrian Cho, Oct 24, 2013.

1. Adrian Cho

Adrian Cho Supporting Member

It has been many years since I've been on TB but I'm back now at least to share my experiences with some new gear I've been trying out. I've been using my AI Clarus SL with a Ten2 EX cabinet for many years now and have been generally happy with it through a Full Circle. However recently I decided to make a couple of changes:

I started using an ATM-350 mic clipped onto the one of the bridge adjuster wheels and mixing it with a pickup.

I started using a Mackie DLM8. This is not a dedicated bass amp but an 8" powered speaker that only goes down to 65 Hz but I am finding it adequate not only for small gigs but even with a big band. While the AI Clarus SL and Ten2 EX combo sounded good I routinely had the bass rolled off everywhere both on the amp and on the cab (using the Room Coupling Control). It just has that much bass. I'm sure it's great when you want some serious thumping with EBG or for a bass that is not so strong on the bottom end but it was way more than I needed (I'm playing a Shen Gemunder Willow 7/8 with Animas and a Gamut Lyon G).

Even though the DLM8 doesn't handle the low end (65 Hz is C and with my C extension I'm actually going down a full octave lower than that), I find that for all the things I do the combination of the acoustic sound from the bass plus the reinforcement from DLM8 is fine and more balanced throughout the range of the instrument.