Making a J Sound Like a P

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BulbousMoses, Jan 29, 2013.

1. BulbousMoses

BulbousMoses

Can you get a Jazz to sound somewhat like a P bass? How? Both pickups full up?
  2. gbass1

gbass1 Supporting Member

Neck pick up all the way up. Bridge off
  3. bikeplate

bikeplate Supporting Member

Not really
  4. exltd001

exltd001

Neck full up, maybe tone turned down a bit. You can also put a switch to make the neck and bridge pickups go in series or parallel. Series makes the sound fuller kind of like a P bass. But if you want P with some J - get a PJ bass. and series/paralell the neck P bass pickup.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. aasti3000

aasti3000 Supporting Member

Can you explain what you mean by series and paralells? I'm still new to the bass lingo.
  7. JoeVictim

JoeVictim

Search "Series Parallel Switch". I think All Parts or Stew Mac has them.

It's as close as you will get a J to sound like a P. From experience.
  8. Emibass

Emibass

Media:
    Albums:
    Get a Squier P.
  9. VanillaThundah

VanillaThundah Pleasantly plucky Supporting Member

Media:
    Best way to sound like a P is to get one!!
  10. MonetBass

MonetBass ♪ Just listen ♫ Supporting Member

If you have a Jazz Deluxe or something similar, you can get darn close. Blend the pickups 80% neck / 20% bridge, boost the mids 100% and cut the highs about 50%. That works for me.
  11. barks

barks

I think you can definitely get 'somewhat like a P bass' sounds with the neck pickup on a Jazz bass. The P bass purists will no doubt disagree!:meh:

I generally prefer my Sadowsky Jazz bass to my 57 reissue Fender P so I use that on my gigs and just favour the neck pickup when I want to get into that P bass ballpark. On it's own it sounds pretty different to the real P bass but in the band most people don't really notice in my experience.