1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Markbass Big Bang vs Aguilar Tone Hammer 500 - Review!

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by stonecoldbass, Mar 31, 2014.

1. stonecoldbass

stonecoldbass

Hey all,
    I thought I would post my recent findings about these two amps as I'm always scouring forums looking for comparison style posts.
    First some background and scene setting: I play mainly in coverbands, funk, jazz, and rnb groups. My bass is an F Bass VF5, ash/maple and my cab is a Sadowsky SA410, 4ohm.
    Both heads are rated at 500watts at 4ohms and both use class D technology. I will give the pros and cons for each head then say why I've picked one over the other.

I've been using the Aguilar TH500 for about 2 months now (on loan from a good friend and Ozbass stalwart) and have a lot of positive things to say about this head.
    •First, it is insanely light. I don't know how aguilar have managed to get so much power from something that appears to be filled with air. Which brings me to my second point:
    • It is LOUD. This thing really kicks out the db's and can be cranked fairly high before it starts to crack (I never actually got that to happen a) because it wasn't my amp and b) because I never had to have it THAT loud)
    • It does vintage/rock thing really well, nice thick mids and plenty of punch.
    • I like the mute button

So here are a few things I'm not so keen on:
    •The single parametric mid control is not enough to tonally sculpt some of the tones I wanted
    * The bottom end is not as tight and focused as I like
    • The power button is on the back (small gripe but personal preference)