1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Markbass LM Series Cab Hook Up

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Bass-4-God, Dec 27, 2013.


  1. Bass-4-God

    Bass-4-God

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas, I've got a quick question. On the Markbass LM series heads you have a 1/4 connection and a 1/4 inch combo connection. Can you hook an 8ohm cab to each connection for a 4 ohm load or do you have to use one and chain one cabinet to another cab to get the 4ohm load.
     
  2. Bass_Thumper

    Bass_Thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Albums:
    1
    Location:
    El Dorado Hills, CA
    yes, connecting an 8 ohm cab into each connector should give you a overall 4 ohm load.
     
  3. Bass-4-God

    Bass-4-God

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Thanks for the input because I just got off of the phone with Guitar Center and the rep was not sure.
     
  4. Russell L

    Russell L

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    Cayce, SC
    Either way works, far as I know.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Bass-4-God

    Bass-4-God

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Yeah I spoke to several GC reps and no one knew for sure. Some said either way and some said daisy chain from one connection.
     
  7. Freddels

    Freddels Musical Anarchist Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Sutton, MA
    You can come off the 1/4" and daisy chain the cabs.
    You can come off the combo connection and daisy chain the cabs.
    You can run one cab off each of the connectors.

    So long as you don't go below 4 ohms, you'll be fine.
     
  8. jumblemind

    jumblemind I also answer to Bryan Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Knoxville
    Yes.

    You can do it this way but you don't "have to"; this would work the same as plugging each cabinet individually to the MB head's outputs.

    Or, to put it another way:

    As long as you never use more than two 8ohm cabs at a time, any of those connection methods will be fine. Congrats on your new amp. :)
     

Share This Page