1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Massaranduba/Bulletwood neck laminate?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Phil Jolly, Nov 17, 2012.

1. Phil Jolly

Phil Jolly

Greetings fellow TBers. I have designed and plan to build my own bass at some point in the future. I want to use a wenge through neck but want to make it very stiff/strong (high elastic strength). Has anyone used massaranduba in the past and would it work as a neck laminate? Thanks for your help, hopefully there will be a photo attached, i haven't got up to posting photos in the text yet, I'm new to this haha. I have done the CAD drawings on google sketchup if anyone wants an email of the file.
    Cheers. :bassist:

Edit: Forgot to mention, i want to make the neck very strong so i can make in thin :)

2. Phil Jolly

Phil Jolly

Additional stuff to interest you...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Woods:
    Wenge + possible massaranduba laminate neck
    Bubinga pommele body
    cocobolo fretboard
    light coloured wood stripes, maple or yellowheart or something

4 string, standard tuning
    864mm scale length
    Nordstrand big singles pickups
    Aguilar OBP-3 preamp
    Hipshot hardware (could possibly make my own bridge out of brass at Uni.

3. Phil Jolly

Phil Jolly

4. FBB Custom

FBB Custom TalkBass Pro

Disclosures:
    Owner: FBB Bass Works
    I've never used massaranduba but obviously by its numbers it is quite stiff. Most here would agree that wenge is stiff enough to make a fine neck on its own.

I think in "going thin" you will reach the point where you have to worry about the truss rod pushing through the back of the neck before you reach the point where a neck of wenge an massaranduba neck is not stiff enough.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Phil Jolly

Phil Jolly