MB Big Block 750 vs MB-Pulse 600

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by pshep68, Feb 10, 2014.

1. pshep68

pshep68

Both of these amps on sale for same price at my local music store? Both are in rhino cases. Anyone have any experience with these amps? What are your thoughts?
  2. KJung

KJung

Owned both back in the day:

BB750... relatively low wattage until you get it to 2ohms... mid present, grindy, growly, grunty. Very 'rock' voiced, with lots of overdrive capability.

MP600..... wide, clean, bloomy, creamy. It will overdrive, but that is not its thing. Very deep bass, relaxed mids, clean but organic top end. Nice 'clean tube' emulation. Massive EQ.

Very different heads in almost every way.
  3. pshep68

pshep68

I've been using Ampeg since I started playing 11 years ago. I assumed, based on the tube compliment, that the BB750 would be natural replacement however, based on your description it would be the M-Pulse 600 eh?
  4. dukeisdog

dukeisdog Supporting Member

What cabs are you going to be running and what is your overall tone goal? I loved my M-Pulse while I had it but never could get it sounding very gritty. It was a killer amp with a really versatile EQ section. I've never played the BB750 but a lot of hard rock/metal guys love them for their overdrive section.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. pshep68

pshep68

I am looking for a warm full sound. I am using an Ampeg 610HLF cab.
  7. pshep68

pshep68

Is there anyone else that can offer an opinion or insight?
  8. vin*tone

vin*tone

Nailed it there.

I have no experience with the BB so can't offer my thoughts on a comparison. The MP has a great DI, EQ and compressor. The footswitch is useful if you're into switching tones on the fly. A second volume can be used as a mute.

Have you plugged into both?
  9. pshep68

pshep68

Can anyone explain why the M-Pulse 600 sounds (based on the description above) like it has the higher tube compliment, when in fact the BB 750 has more tubes?
  10. chaosMK