MEC active preamp question

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Invisible_Kid, Dec 30, 2013.


  1. Invisible_Kid

    Invisible_Kid

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    My question is very simple: is it possible to wire a MEC active preamp with independent volume controls? Thanks.
  2. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
  3. Invisible_Kid

    Invisible_Kid

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    How?
  4. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    Two volumes into the input. Same as any other dual-volume setup.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Invisible_Kid

    Invisible_Kid

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Where would you put the additional volume pot(s), though?

    I ask because, according to this diagram, the signal from the pups goes first to the treble pot, and then the entire signal from both pickups goes into a volume/blend push-pull as a result of them both going to the treble pot first.

    [​IMG]
  7. rojo412

    rojo412 MARK IT ZERO! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH.
    Disclosures:
    Proprietor, ACF Custom
    That's for the single-pickup FNA bass.
    Which model do you have?
  8. Invisible_Kid

    Invisible_Kid

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Oooh, didn't notice that.

    I don't have a Warwick bass, I'm just wondering because I want to put a MEC preamp in a three-pickup custom build.
  9. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    I can't see it too clearly. Looks like a series/parallel switch. There is no connection from the pickup to the treble pot. The pot goes only to the preamp.

    The two volume pots will output to where that pickup inputs.
  10. rojo412

    rojo412 MARK IT ZERO! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH.
    Disclosures:
    Proprietor, ACF Custom
    I had to replace a push/pull volume pot in a 2 band MEC and was able to decipher the wiring well enough to get it done. They are complicated, but are just preamps.

    Most likely, if you have an MEC preamp, the signal going into it can come from any number of passive configurations. As long as they have a "Hot out", you can put it into the preamp.
  11. Invisible_Kid

    Invisible_Kid

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Thank you very much! That's exactly what I needed to know.

Share This Page