Memorizing and where to start

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Adam Maloney, Jan 28, 2013.

1. Adam Maloney

Adam Maloney

So I've been playing for a couple years and don't have a problem comping or soloing through changes (though that can always use work). My knowledge of tunes however is AWFUL. I've really just never tried to memorize anything. I've now realized that its very important to memorize tunes, also so I don't need a stand at gigs.

How should I go about starting memorizing tunes? What's a list of good tunes I should start with that are common to the jazz community as a whole?
    Thanks,
    Adam
  2. Adam Maloney

Adam Maloney

Also, how do you guys get out of the walking rut? The few tunes I've tried memorizing, I get into a rut, doing the same walking lines every time.
  3. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

This is my new learning process for tunes:

1) Find a vocal version of the tune. Write down the lyrics and learn them. If there are no lyrics then learn the melody.
    2) Sing the song to myself and along with the recording so at least I have one chorus of verses down
    3) Take the recording and learn the melody and try not to look at the chart. Only refer to the chart when the singer seems to be singing an ambigous note, keeping in mind how its sung is usually not how it's written. The chart is just a reference, not the bible. Doesn't matter if it's in a different key - I just have to find the right note using it as a reference.
    3) Grab the chart , walk a broken line while singing the lyrics/melody. Listen to how the melody interacts with the bassline and identifying why certain chords make sense with the lyrics.
    4) Do the same as above while walking a line.
    5) Put the bass down, sing the melody/lyrics vocally while singing the bassline in my head
    6) Reverse it, sing the bassline while sing the melody in my head