memorizing scales, etc

Discussion in 'Ask the Berklee Bass Department' started by Anthony White, Feb 2, 2014.

1. Anthony White

Anthony White

I have a question I'd like to put to the Berklee Bass Department about memorisation of what can be loosely grouped as 'jazz theory'.

I'm a double bassist. I've reached the point in studying jazz where I clearly need to memorise a bunch of stuff. I'm thinking particularly of the seven greek modes, the five common modes of the ascending melodic scale, etc. Then moving on to tritone subs ... there's just a lot of stuff that it strikes me requires rote memorisation, before it is internalised well enough to use musically. I think someone famous once said, "Learn all of your scales. Then forget them."

So I "understand" all of the theory at the moment. I know, for example, that the phrygian is the third mode of the major scale, and that (thinks a moment) it is therefore spelt 1, b2, 3, 4, 5, b6, b7, etc. And that, thus, in C it is (thinks for another moment) C, Db, Eb, F, G, Ab, Bb, etc. But those "thinks for a moment" moments don't work when I'm actually playing.

I need to get from understanding it in an intellectual way, to knowing it so that it is at my fingertips, tip of the tongue, tip of the earlobe, without having to think about it.

So, is there a pedagogical consensus, or a set of leading opinions, on the most efficient way to memorise this stuff?

At the moment, I'm doing a combination of the following:
    Playing each mode on the double bass, singing the scale degree as I play it. Same with the arpeggio of that mode, up to the 13th.
    Doing the same at the piano.
    Some writing out of the name of the modes, their distinctive degrees, and the associated chord, longhand repeatedly over a page of a notebook. eg, Lyd, #4 (#11) Maj7#4, Maj7#11