Mesa Scout or Aguilar DB359?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by wishImay, Jan 23, 2013.

?

Messa Scout combo Vs. Aguilar DB359 plus 1X15 cab of choice

1. Mesa Scout 1x15 Combo.

58 vote(s)
    48.3%
  2. Aguilar DB359 with 1x15 cab of choice.

62 vote(s)
    51.7%
  1. wishImay

wishImay

I am a newbie here so try not to laugh if this is a ridiculous question. Mesa Scout or Aguilar DB359 driving your choice of 1X15 to keep it fair. :smug: This is for practice and recording and I do not need crazy loud volume. Thank you!
  2. wishImay

wishImay

While we are at it which 1X15 cab would tighten up the bass for the DB359?
  3. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

II don't understand the question. I've had both of them and they are both great amps.

The DB359 hasn't been made for quite a while, and thus much more difficult to find. The Mesa can be bought at any GC that sells Mesa gear.

Any reason why you're only looking at 15's?
  4. Folmeister

Folmeister Knowledge is Good - Emile Faber Supporting Member

I have both, and if I were limited to a single 15" cab, I would go with the WA combo. The WA combo is awkward to lug around, but the head and cab are, in my opinion, well matched. The 359, also a pain to lug around on its own, I think goes better with a bigger cab. I like the 359 with my HD212, but LOVE it with my Whappo.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bassgod0dmw

+1. It needs an amp depth rack to house it, which kinda sucks.
  7. wallydoesbass

wallydoesbass Gold Supporting Member

+1 The 359 is WAY heavy. I finally sold mine.
  8. bassgod0dmw

It's quite light for an all tube head. IIRC it's like 50lbs? I think the form factor makes it feel heavier than it is.
  9. lpdeluxe

lpdeluxe Still rockin' Supporting Member

I voted for the one I own.:D

Mesa/Boogie Walkabout Scout 1x15.
  10. wishImay

wishImay

Thank you for the responses.
  11. wishImay

wishImay