Metal bassists...... Advice please!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Liv3rman, Jan 15, 2013.

1. Liv3rman

Liv3rman

I'm a recent convert to bass from guitar, and play in a rock/metal covers band. We play Metallica, G'n'R, Megadeth, Motörhead etc.
    I started playing with a pick, but I have starting using fingers as I prefer the warmer, rounder tone. However I miss the aggressive attack of a pick.
    If I dig in with my fingers to get a better attack, I lose picking speed.
    Will my attack improve as my finger tips harden? Or is there another compromise I could try with EQ settings etc.

Any help will be gratefully appreciated.

2. Poopoutyouridea

Poopoutyouridea

You could try switching to stainless steel strings. Also, maybe when EQ-ing bumb the treble on your amp up slightly for a bit more "zing".

3. Technotitclan

Technotitclan Lurking TB from work

Its practice and technique. Strength and stamina are going to be a factor as well as how you hit the string. brush or tap vs pluck as well as where you strike the string, Closer to the neck requires less force.

Also if you substitute nickle strings for steel strings it may give you some more of that attack your looking for.

4. Liv3rman

Liv3rman

Thanks for the replies.

I'm currently using heavy Rotosound flatwounds, as I like the feel and tone of them. Are these the wrong strings to get the sound I'm looking for?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. eyeballkid

eyeballkid

Disclosures:
    Records of Existence/PyrE owner
    yep.. flatwounds are the hardest to get attack out of.

7. DaRQsiDe

DaRQsiDe

My experience is, you need bright sounding strings (stainless steel), a low action (as low as it gets, a little fret buzzing will give the rougher, aggressive edge if you blend it nice with the preamp/amp tone settings).

My personal preference is to use medium-light gauge strings but i know most metal bassists use medium (.135 B's, .105 E's and so on), depends on how aggressive your attack is.