Metal/Surf/Punk Learning Resources

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by viking power, Apr 9, 2014.

1. viking power

viking power

Anybody want to chime in with recommendations for learning and progressing in these styles? I've gone through Dave Elefson's DVD's which were helpful. Looking for other good resources. Book? DVD? Online lessons?

I'm a beginner still in my opinion. I've jammed with other people maybe half a dozen times and have been playing for about a year now.

I want to be able to cover songs really well and also create my own songs in these genres.

Thanks!

2. Clef_de_fa

Clef_de_fa

One thing for sure is that music theory would help you discover what each type of music most often do.

But I can only speak of Metal because I haven't spend time with the others but I'm pretty sure those genre are also very broad. So a lot of sstyle of metal ask different thing from the player, some of wich will require more technical ability than the others ...

also depending of the style within the genre, it may be very boring on bass and will be more guitar oriented ... which I'm pretty sure is where the music is composed. But again you can find style within the genre that is pretty impressive on the bass side

how can you learn those ... well again music theory help, then listen to the music ... and also have some imagination

3. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

I'm Country and Praise so I'll not try and get specific in your styles of music. However I have found that music is basically melody, harmony and rhythm. How we mix those three things gives the style. Rhythm perhaps having the most influence on the style.

Once I had the basic how to play down, I then started my theory journey, that led me to technique, and that led me to studying printed sheet music on Country and Praise.