Mic Connection

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by KingDavid, Jan 11, 2014.

1. KingDavid

KingDavid

I am thinking of getting a Shure SM-57 or 58. However, it has an XLR and I am not good with recording setups, I only produce. So, I was wondering, what is the best and cheapest way to setup a mic? I want it linked to a DAW straight from the mic, if possible. At least, it would be the easiest for me.
  2. Gizmot

Gizmot Supporting Member

You want to use XLRs because the connection is balanced so it won't pick up noise or electrical interference. To use any mic with a DAW, you'll need an interface which contains A-D converters to get the signal into the computer. There are lots of products available to choose from.
  3. KingDavid

KingDavid

Like I mentioned, I'm not the best with studio. What do you mean by A-D converters, and there specific companies that make these?
  4. KingDavid

KingDavid

5. BioWeapon

BioWeapon

AD converter means analog to digital converter. It converts a signal from the bass/mic/etc to a signal your computer can interpret.
    Sound cards in PCs have them built in, but you can also get outboard sound cards with XLR Jack sockets.
    You can also get XLR to 1/4" or XLR to standard audio jack cables in order to use a card that doesn't have an XLR socket.
  6. KingDavid

KingDavid

So, you're saying, that I need to buy one of these converters, with an XLR input, to transfer the signal from the Mic to the DAW? Also, I'm planning on using a laptop, as it is more portable and I want to set the mini studio in my garage. So, does the ADC HAVE to be hooked up to a PC, or are there converters that are standalone?
  7. mellow yellow

mellow yellow