Mid-Powered/Mid-Priced Tube Heads?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Definitely, Jan 25, 2014.

1. Definitely

Definitely Banned

Well, I'm finally making the switch not only from solid state to tube but from combo to head and cab. I'm 15 and I've been playing for about 6 years, but no gigging yet so I've kept just a 350 combo that serves me just fine for jamming by myself and with a guitarist. I've recently started playing with drummer(s), and I've found that a single 210 combo just doesn't push what I need it to, so I've decided to move up to something I can use now but also something I won't need to upsize for a long, long time. I've played through tubes around the city and have found that I really do love the sound (although I mean really who doesn't), and with a budget of around $1,300 I decided I'd go with a Carvin BX500 and an Avatar B410. Recently perusing TB, I've seen a lot of people saying that the BX500 only really has a tube for the sake of having a tube, and that it really doesn't do much for the tone. I was ready to pick it up because of good reviews and a sweet price, but that little fact has come to somewhat scare me. I'm not sure now whether I go for it or not, I mean I love tube sound but at the same time I have heard that it's a great head anyway, so I'm torn. I hereby call on the wisdom of the TB pros and researchers for help on the matter. Do I go with the Carvin or head in a different direction? I'd like a $500 max but if it's worth it it's worth it, so I could consider something more. As for the details you may need to know before helping me, I play a Carvin B40 (active jazz setup), and I'd like something with some tonal range, however I like to stick to boosted mids, slightly boosted treble and flat bass for the most part. Thanks all! This is an exciting decision.

2. Sartori

Sartori

Used Peavey VB-2, maybe.

Or perhaps an old Ampeg V4 or V4B, though they might betting expensive now.

Sovtek stuff might be affordable, too.

3. catgut