1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Mike Mills R.E.M.

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by shrimpflea, Jan 17, 2014.

1. shrimpflea

shrimpflea

Before I played bass back in the 1980's R.E.M. was one of my favorite bands. Wasn't until the late 1990's when I started playing bass that I realized how good a bass player he was.

Mills with R.E.M. video

2. Rune Bivrin

Rune Bivrin Supporting Member

Great playing. Singing - not so much...

3. t77mackie

t77mackie

REM was never my cup of tea when they were in their heyday. However I always respected the earnestness, honesty, and sincerity of their songwriting and the vulnerability of the vocal performances. I appreciate that more and more as I grow old(er). Few bands have this quality of genuineness and is something that more songwriters should strive for. A song like Buck Cherry's 'Crazy Bitch' may sell and be fun to listen to, but, in the end what did we really get?

(Not to single out BC, I kinda dig them a tiny bit - just the 1st song that came to my mind...)

4. Rob22315

Rob22315

Huge REM fan here since Murmur first came out. Great tunes, great musicians. Yes, Mike's vocals in the linked video leave a bit to be desired but nothing a little autotune couldn't fix.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member

Listening to Document right now. Excellent musical craftsmanship all around. I've always liked the bass lines but just recently started listening to all of their stuff and not just the hits. Every line is just perfect for the song.

7. 62Jazzbass

62Jazzbass

Ack, yeah, pull that link and replace it with something better.

The album version is much better.

He's a big reason I got a Rick, Tommy Stinson too.

8. ChopperDave

ChopperDave Hai-ohhhhhhh!