MIM P bass christmas upgrade project

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Espresto, Dec 4, 2012.

1. Espresto

Espresto

Hello Talkbass!

I've decided that, rather than get some pedals I won't use, or an amplifier that I can't take to gigs, I would like to upgrade my P bass, which has recently been playing second (bass) fiddle to my Modulus. I'd like to keep the budget under $300 though, and I don't have any luthiers anywhere nearby, so this has to be 100% DIY. I already replaced the pickups awhile back.

At the moment I'm thinking I'll install a new bridge (Hipshot B) new tuners (Hipshot HB2 lollipops) add a new pickguard (matte black) and add black inlay stickers, as long as they don't end up looking too kitschy.

I'm not an expert, so I'd like to know what you guys think would be the best possible upgrades, cosmetically, and/or sonically for the bass.

I attached a current photo of the bass, and a photoshop mockup of what my current plan would look like.

Attached Files:

2. pedrodelawasp

pedrodelawasp

Not sure of the black blocks against the rosewood board... MOP decals?

3. pedrodelawasp

pedrodelawasp

Though that wouldn't really be in-keeping with the black theme of the hardware and guard...

4. northernmonkey

northernmonkey

IMHO, Black against the blue with rosewood is a little sucky as a concept. I'm not feeling the love at all

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Espresto

Espresto

Yeah, I couldn't think of much else though. Any better ideas?

I really wish I'd gotten a maple board way back when. I have a hard time thinking of anything that looks good with rosewood other than sunburst.

7. pedrodelawasp

pedrodelawasp

MOP blocks, white pearl guard, stick with chrome hardware?

8. Espresto

Espresto

I'd like to make it darker though.

9. pedrodelawasp

pedrodelawasp

10. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member