1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Modal theory training material

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by WeeTee, Mar 8, 2014.

1. WeeTee

WeeTee

Hi TB'ers,

Can anybody recommend any good training material (excercises, quizzes etc.) on modal/chordal theory? Something along the lines of "Here's a chord progression: XX YY ZZ. List appropriate modes for soloing over it." and stuff like that.

I'm a classically trained cello player, so I have quite a strong theory background from the classical side. I've also been playing bass (self taught) for about 15 years now, but I've never had any formal training on "jazz" theory, and my bass playing has mostly been pre-written bass lines, no improvisation. This means that while I know the common modes on a theory level, I'm not really fluent with them - the time it takes me to think through them means that I can't use any of that stuff in the heat of the moment.

2. HolmeBass

HolmeBass Supporting Member

Media:
    Wish I could help. I will say that changing the mode with each chord change is not the way to do it. You kind of want to identify key-centers, even if only briefly used, to connect a single mode over two to four chord changes, so that it matches naturally with the phrasing.

Here on TB I think you will find many telling you to forget modes and instead work of off chord tones, chromatics, and leading tones. It really should all work together, for example don't tryout use modes as a crutch to ignore the tensions in a given set of changes, and also remember if it sounds good it is good.

3. fu22ba55

fu22ba55 Supporting Member

If you've got access to an iOS device, you could use iRealB to quiz yourself.

-It's an iPad version of a fake book and you can download changes to a bunch of tunes.