Modes and their implementation

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by MrBKerth, Apr 12, 2014.

1. MrBKerth

MrBKerth Bassist for The Sipps (Presskit.to/TheSipps) Supporting Member

Hello all,
    I've been trying to make headway as a self taught musician by familiarizing myself with theory as I can find it online and books. I've become confused by modes. I understand that they are on an incredibly basic level just starting the same scale (Lets say the G Major) on a note other than G. Example being A Dorian being the same notes as G Major. I think that's right anyways.

So here's my question. If my guitar player is doing a riff where I want to do a fill under his sustained G Chord in the key of G (as an example) would I (again for example) play from the B Phrygian (because it has the same notes as the key of G), or would derive from the G Phrygian since the key is G?

I know, I've got a lot to learn and it's been a challenge. Pardon my ignorance :bag:
  2. Stick_Player

Stick_Player

Seven Modes ROOTED on G:

Major Modes
    G Lydian - G, A, B, C#, D, E, F#
    G Ionian - G, A, B, C, D, E, F#
    G Mixolydian - G, A, B, C, D, E, F

Minor Modes
    G Dorian - G, A, Bb, C, D, E, F
    G Aeolian - G, A, Bb, C, D, Eb, F
    G Phrygian - G, Ab, Bb, C, D, Eb, F
    G Locrian - G, Ab, Bb, C, Db, Eb, F

What notes are in the guitarist's "G Chord"?

If it's just a G Major (G, B, D), that will eliminate the "minor" Modes, and you could utilize one of the 3 Major Modes. If it's a G7 (G, B, D, F), you choices are further reduced to just the Mixolydian.

Same selection process, if the guitar is playing some kind of Minor chord. If it's Gmin7 (G, Bb, D, F), you can choose Dorian, Aeolian, or Phrygian. If there is a Ninth being played in the guitar chord (i.e., Gm9 - G, Bb, D, F, A), you would not use a G Phrygian.

If the guitarist's chord is just a "Power Chord" (G, D), you can try anyone of the first six Modes.