"Mojo" vs "Scratched up-abused"

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DavidEdenAria, Dec 20, 2013.

1. DavidEdenAria

DavidEdenAria

To me there is a major difference between the two.

Now, I have a 71 Fender Musicmaster Bass that some fool refined clear and even went so far as spraying the pickguard black!:bawl:

Thankfully the bass is original otherwise and is very resonant and a featherweight.:bassist:

I don't know what to do with it now.....what would you folks do, refin it to original?

Otoh, my 48 Fender Deluxe tweed amp has some some water stains on the bottom of the very rare straight tweed and I HAD to replace the bottom baffle screws (rusted out)....this amp has MOJO imo despite some telling me it needs recovered:scowl:...

What do you do with a guitar or bass you've bought for cheap where someone carves their name or something else or it has a major scratch across the front from a pissed off girlfriend?

Is this considered "Mojo" by some?
  2. Temcat

Temcat

I have almost exactly the bass you described when referring to a pissed off girlfriend. It's not mine but my friend's, and it was not a girlfriend but his ex-wife who did it. She attempted to destroy it (and several other guitars and basses) with an *axe* - but only succeeded in a limited way. It has scars on the body, but nothing serious on the neck and fretboard (in fact, I've just had the fretboard repaired since I'm supposed to start playing this bass regularly soon).

I see the damage this bass has as mojo. I define mojo for myself as some damage, whether natural or not, that gives an instrument a soul, and a rock-n-roll soul at that. I think this qualifies.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Sorry for the crappy pics, but they give you an idea.
  3. JennySuzuki

JennySuzuki

That's punk rock there, man. Punk rock. :bassist:
  4. DavidEdenAria

DavidEdenAria

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. AudioDwebe

AudioDwebe Supporting Member

I wouldn't consider the bass as having mojo based on the ax gashes.