More praise for the humble SX (Essex)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dougjwray, Dec 29, 2012.

1. dougjwray

dougjwray

My main Precision-style bass for the last 3 1/2 years has been an SX copy, and I just picked up a new "Ursa" (for tuned-down songs). $99 each.
    On Thursday night, I was in Guitar Center and I tried out a Fender American Standard Precision, for fun. Because I'm used to the SX's chunky neck, slightly bigger body, hot pickups and old-fashioned (low-mass) bridge, the Fender just felt flimsy and sounded kind of weak in comparison. Obviously, the Fender was very well made. But so is the SX (my new Ursa came with a straight neck, perfectly good fretwork, a well-cut nut, and filed fret ends).
    No, I'm not crazy or trying to be cute. You might argue that I've simply grown accustomed to an inferior instrument, and can't recognize a good one when I play it. But, I've been playing pro or semi-pro for 42 years and own a '71 Fender Precision, an early Ernie Ball Music Man Stingray 5 and several other "nice" instruments, too.
    $99 <--- pretty good.

2. bassbenj

bassbenj

I'm sure we don't need yet another thread gushing over SX basses, but truth is there is something to gush about. Sure there are always those tied up in knots laughing at anybody who dares hint that an SX can beat out an MIA Fender. But I tell you, I played a LOT of MIA Fenders and I can assure everyone that the MIA sticker was NOT magic. Some of those basses were really (and I mean REALLY) seriously bad. And of course some weren't.

In the end I picked out a nice MIA Jazz and I was about to lay 'em down for it, when I discovered the MIM Jazz I now own at GC. Played every bit as nice as the MIA but tone not quite as nice until I put SCN pickups in it.