More than just roots

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by mpderksen, Mar 11, 2014.

1. mpderksen

mpderksen

It's a big question, but I am bored with the way I play, but am stuck how to improve.
    I started in a cover band, so I would learn the tabs for the classic rock songs we did. Then, when that stopped, I started playing for our church. They give us sheets with just the chord changes.
    I have a strong keyboard background (classical major in college) so I know theory and how to read. I've practiced scales on the bass, and it's coming along. I can add notes when moving from on chord to the next by using those patterns.
    BUT, that's where I'm stuck. I know I'm not the lead, but when I watch proficient bass players, they add a lot more color. Tonight, I was working on a song in B. 4 bars of that, then walk up to E for 4 bars. Years of playing only what is written left me with a weak ear. And tabs are just memorization that rarely gives me ideas for other songs. I've moved to the mid-neck to give me more room for octaves, but I'm still stuck.
    I love blues and jazz, so should I spend some time learning those styles? Will they give me more ideas that I can use in my church music? (Which I play mostly as a service, not out of a particular love for that musical style).
    I have a book, Building Walking Basslines, but never opened it. Copying riffs from better players doesn't seem to help me learn to create my own.

Thoughts on how to practice that will make me better would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Michael
  2. WeeTee

WeeTee

There's your answer. Crack that book open and spend some quality time with it. You're bound to pick up lots of ideas from it.
  3. mandohack

mandohack Supporting Member

You're already on your way with the scale tones. Other things to consider:

1. Use chord tones, 1-3-5, 1-3-5-7, etc. while playing and to get you to the next chord. After getting used to that, you can add enharmonic notes to add flavor.