Mosrite Ventures Bass Question

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by baconmpanada, Dec 18, 2012.

1. baconmpanada

baconmpanada

How different is a Mosrite Ventures bass in terms of feel and sound to a fender style bass?

I'm looking at one from the net, however since i have had no experience with Mosrite basses and would not be able to test them (as i live in the other side of the world), i would like to seek opinions of ones who have used a Mosrite bass.

Also which is more desirable the 1 pickup or 2 pickup version?

Thanks!
  2. TRichardsbass

TRichardsbass

Disclosures:
    F CLEF LLC, Music Industry Consulting and Sales
    Depends on your desires. The best way to figure out the sound is to listen to a lot of old Ventures records, especially the 1964-1969 stuff. Most of that was recorded with the Mosrites.

If you want old school, one pickup. If you want a slightly more jazzy sound, two pickups.

Hope that helps.
  3. THORRR

THORRR Supporting Member Supporting Member

4. Luckydog

Luckydog Supporting Member

As far as feel, I never owned a Mosrite, but played a couple. To me they felt light and almost toyish, particularly the neck. Not to disparage them to those who appreciate them, but thats been my experience.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. WoodyJ

WoodyJ Supporting Member

As a long-time Ventures fan, I used to have a Mosrite Ventures bass (2 pickup) and a Ventures guitar, both 1965 models.

I didn't keep the bass very long. It didn't have near the punch of a Fender and the neck profile didn't suit me. But it was nicely made, I liked the way it looked and I sold it for more than I paid for it (to a collector who was not a player).

After the Ventures sales deal with Semie Moseley ended, around 1967, I believe, Ventures bassist Bob Bogle started playing a Fender Precision. When the Ventures' Aria/Wilson Bros. deal materialized in the early 2000's, Bob started playing one of those, which he did until his passing in 2009.