1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. We are currently evaluating the "One Post Per Classified Ad" policy. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Mounting an Audere JZ3 preamp on a pickguard

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by mgalat, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. mgalat

    mgalat Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, oddball question but I figured what better place to ask.

    I am the current owner of an SX 5 string jazz. I have an insatiable desire to turn it into a poor man's marcus miller V. This includes the obnoxiously large pickguard. However I want to keep the Audere preamp that I have on it currently. The problem is that if you look at the actual product (http://www.audereaudio.com/index.htm) the preamp is mounted straight onto the metal and not all separate pots.

    The question: Would I be able to remove the preamp from the metal piece and mount it straight to a custom pickguard without endangering the preamp?

    Note: the custom pickguard would have the proper holes drilled so the pots would line up correctly.
  2. jpeck02

    jpeck02 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had an Audere preamp removed from it's existing plate and reinstalled on a new plate by an extremely well respected luthier here in Chicago. It never worked right and eventually shorted out. We had to send it back to Audere for repair. I think they charged us $50 to fix it.
  3. mgalat

    mgalat Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, that's disheartening. Thank you for letting me know.

    After it was fixed, did you remount it on the original plate? Or did you keep using it on the new plate?
  4. jpeck02

    jpeck02 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Audere fixed it and installed it on my new plate. It worked fine after that.
    I think the problem was when we drilled a hole in the new plate for the Z-Switch, it was not quite in the right place and it put some pressure on the circuit board after it was installed.
  5. mgalat

    mgalat Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it. Thank you for the information.

    (To the moderators: Sorry that I had this in the wrong forum initially)
  6. DWBass

    DWBass The Funkfather Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Likes Received:
    2
    Disclosures:
    Kohlman Bassworks
    Hmmm.......I had one transferred from the plate to a custom bass with rear routing. No issues. Then again, my tech is an engineer by trade. I don't think he'd have a problem transferring it back to a plate of any kind.

Share This Page