mtd kingston kz 5 or MM stingray 5

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Leftybassist4, Mar 28, 2014.

1. Leftybassist4

Leftybassist4

I have been playing bass for a few years now I ask have done money saved and I am looking to upgrade. I am interested in five string just so I can get the extra range. Since I am left handed, I RARELY get to try a good bass out with the body, neck, and strings facing my direction which makes shopping for a nicer bass difficult since so much of "which bass is better" is judged by how it feels in one's hands. Anyways, I have been scouring ebay and Craigslist and I currently have my eyes on a stingray 5 and a kz 5 and I wanted to hear people's thoughts on those and/or other 5ers in a similar price range. My other problem is that I play almost exclusively finger style and YouTube is full of videos of people showing off their "guitar center chops" solo slapping technique, instead of actually playing standard bass lines with drums or something behind 'em. So I can't ever get my hands on these basses and I can't quite hear what it would sound like if I were to play it in a band. I do my best to judge basses by reading reviews, threads, comments, and by watching videos, listening to albums, but advice would be appreciated, especially as to which of the two mentioned basses would be better for finger style. Thanks.
  2. Sav'nBass

Sav'nBass Supporting Member

I have never played a Stingray but I own a KZ5 and als. KH5 (Kingston Heir) and I would reccomend that you sonsider. KH5 as well. The Kingstons are very well made basses. Consider asking around here who lives near you. Who knows maybe there is a TBer who is a lefty with one of these basses that wouldn't mind letting you try it out.
  3. gleneg61

gleneg61