MusicMan Bongo 4 vs Warwick Pro Thumb 4

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by funkytime, Nov 1, 2013.

1. funkytime

funkytime

Greetings everyone, I'm new to this forum. I'm a longtime rock/metal bassist who has recently taken an interest in funk/motown styles. I have 2 Five stings (just sold the third), but I'm looking to pick up a 4 string to play around with slappin' and smooth jazz styles. For the cost, I had pretty much narrowed my search down to a Warwick Pro series Thumb but found a listing for a Bongo 4 at the same price, and I've always found the bongo to be an intriguing instrument.

Any recommendations? Obviously if money were no issue, I'd go for a German Thumb, but I'm on a budget, and I have found both of these used in great condition for about the same price. Just looking for some other thoughts on these instruments

Thanks in advance.

2. Nightvision

Nightvision

Slap and smooth jazz? Bongo.
    I have one, it´s a very great bass able to do everything, from smooth jazz tones to very agressive sound. Also, i hate Warwick (except the Star Bass)

3. AshdownMad

AshdownMad

They are 2 very different basses! The Bongo is very post-modern looking and the Thumb is very natural and more classic looking. The sound difference is probably as different as well

The Warwick is made out of better woods (though this can be preference) but its slightly heavier. The Bongo is 8.4 lbs and the Thumb 9.4 lbs.

Have you got the opportunity to play them before you buy them?

4. Runnerman

Runnerman Registered Bass Player Supporting Member

If you are looking at the single humbucker version of the Bongo it would be better for slap. It's doable on the two humbucker version but not as nice with a fairly small window for plucking. That's my experience anyways.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. funkytime

funkytime